Thursday, May 13, 2010

2010 Gryphon Award

Okay, this is not new news, as I spaced the email from the CCB when I got it a few months ago, but I still want to pass the word about the Gryphon Award, given by the University of Illinois's GSLIS/Center for Children's Books. The 2010 award goes to "the author of an outstanding English language work of fiction or non-fiction for which the primary audience is children in kindergarten through fourth grade," and this year's winner(s) are James Sturm, Andrew Arnold, and Alexis Frederick-Frost for Adventures in Cartooning, published in 2009 by Center for Cartoon Studies / First Second/ Roaring Brook. More information about the award and this year's three honor books can be found here.

I like this award not only because of my long association with and continuing respect for BCCB but because books for younger children need all the help they can get. Those people relying on YA to keep the publishing industry and youth librarianship going had better mind that, as a population bump, those readers are aging out. What will you do then?

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

"those readers are aging out . . "

This coming on the heels of your previous post, I am not sure I agree.